Peppermint Patty Brownies


Do you ever have one of those moments when you realize that it is very possible that you are someone else’s crazy? Like, when you have to dig deep and say, “Self, you are about to become the punchline in someone’s ‘Oh my god, I used to know this crazy girl who…’ story if you don’t stop acting so, well, crazy.” ? I was (am?) there yesterday.  I asked someone a question that as the words were coming out of my mouth, the logical, non-Sybil side of me was screaming, “STOP TALKING!!! STOP. TALKING. RIGHT. NOW!!” but it was out and there was nothing I could do but own it and try to move on.  Yikes.

What this has to do with food is really nothing other than I decided to bake some brownies to occupy my mind (because I’ve never made brownies from scratch before so I thought it would be a good project) and try to bring myself back to a place that’s a little more Zen and a little less whirling dervish.  Baking has a calming effect on me mainly because I have to concentrate on measuring ingredients out and setting up bowls and not overmixing or underbaking and it’s hard to think about random acts of nuttiness as you are trying to get egg whites to reach a perfect peak.  For a very long time I’ve wanted to make brownies with Peppermint Patties in them because I love brownies and I love Peppermint Patties and so, why not?  I realized that putting them at the bottom of the pan would likely not be a good idea, so I decided to do a layer of brownie batter followed by a layer of Peppermint Patties and then topped by a layer of batter.  Keep in mind that I was watching the end of Kings of Pastry while I was thinking about this, so inspiration was running high.

It’s doing this–making up recipes–that makes me realize that I really have no idea what I’m doing in a kitchen, despite having taken classes and made my way through boot camp.  So when the original recipe called for 2 cups of sugar, I had to pause and try to figure out how to account for the fact that I was adding Peppermint Patties to the mix.  And then would that change the consistency of the brownies? And would the middle of the patties melt and harden and become inedible? And should I cut back on the chocolate? AND……! And before you knew it, I’d forgotten all about my moment of crazy the day before since I had now spiralled down into an abyss of culinary kookiness.  But unlike my other bout of WTF?, I was the only witness and could easily conceal all evidence if need be.

After a bit of tweaking and doubling the baking time, I have to admit to being pretty happy with my experiment.  They’re a little crisper on top than I’d normally like, but the center is moist and fudgy and I cut them so there’s a Peppermint Patty in each square.  The sides (which are usually my fave part of a brownie) were much too crunchy, so I had to cut them off.  I’m not sure if that had to do with lining the pan with foil or that I had to bake much longer than recommended (I think the suggested pan size is too small).  But the absolute best part is that I was completely distracted, which is exactly what I wanted (more than I wanted a whole pan of warm brownies, which says a lot).  I feel better, I can think back on what was said without cringing and calm has returned to my world.  But…there’s one lingering thing nagging at me.  If being in a kitchen can make me this happy so quickly, what the *$)#%& am I doing sitting in an office all day….?

Peppermint Patty Brownies (adapted from Gourmet, October 2003)

  • 8 ounces fine-quality bittersweet chocolate (not unsweetened), coarsely chopped (I used semi-sweet chocolate chips)
  • 2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour (5.5 ounces)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups sugar (if you add the Peppermint Patties, use 1-1/4 cups)
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 bag mini Peppermint Patties

Put oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 350°F. Grease a 9-inch square baking pan (2 inches deep) and line bottom and sides with wax paper, then butter paper. (I seriously don’t understand this wax paper step, especially since my box of wax paper says not to use in an oven.  I used foil and I think it caused the sides to crisp up too much)

Melt butter and chocolate in a medium heatproof bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water, stirring occasionally, until smooth.

Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl.  Whisk together sugar, eggs, and vanilla in a large bowl, then pour in chocolate mixture, whisking until combined well. Whisk in flour mixture.  Transfer half of  batter to baking pan, add a layer of Peppermint Patties and cover with remaining batter.

Bake until top is shiny and set and sides have begun to pull away slightly (a wooden pick or skewer will not come out clean), about 35 minutes, for fudgy brownies; or until wooden pick or skewer comes out clean, 50 minutes to 1 hour total, for cakey brownies. (This is a lie. I had to bake for an hour and 15 minutes to get the batter to set and they came out fudgy, which I wanted. Watch closely! I think the recommended pan size was too small though)

Cool brownies completely in pan on a rack. Invert onto a cutting board, remove paper, and cut into squares, making sure to cut large enough so there’s a Peppermint Patty in each square.

8 Responses to Peppermint Patty Brownies

  1. Yum, I love peppermint patties and in a brownie they would be superb. These look fantastic. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your brownies up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/03/sweets-for-saturday-10.html

  2. H2 says:

    I want the crunchy sides you cut off!

  3. pestlemortar says:

    @Lisa: Thanks! Let me know if you try them and youre blog is a lot of fun!

    @H2: I wish I could save you some crunchy sides, but they are rapidly disappearing…

  4. Your brownies look delicious! You can never go wrong with peppermint patties!!!

  5. pestlemortar says:

    Thanks Erin! Two of my favorite things put together!

  6. Pingback: Polenta with Mascarpone « Pestle Mortar

  7. If I do not have one of these brownies RIGHT NOW I might die!

  8. Pingback: Peppermint Patty Brownies | STL Cooks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

