Truffle Goodness


I have this thing about having to pay huge amounts of money for food that I think I can make myself.  This presents a lot of problems, obviously.  I have no culinary training, so even though I do a lot of experiments in my kitchen, it’s about a 45% chance things turn out the way they’re supposed to.  And who really has the time to make all of the things that you can easily walk into a bakery and buy?  I mean, that’s the whole point of other people going to culinary school and opening their own shops and doing all the work: so I don’t have to.  But paying $5 for a cupcake makes me crazy, especially since the cupcakes at these places that have popped up over the last few years are never quite as good as the Betty Crocker ones I’ve been making since I was 7.

 

Last Christmas, after going to a chocolate shop and putting down half a mortgage payment for four tiny truffles, I decided I would make my own.  Who in their right mind, you may ask, makes their own truffles?  Well, someone with too much time on their hands and who doesn’t think that biting into velvety chocolate covered in cocoa powder should be only for the independently wealthy on special occasions.  When you realize how easy they are, you may start a protest outside of Godiva.  I’ll join you; just let me know when.

 

Chocolate Truffles (my tweaks in red)

 

 

 

 From Joy of Cooking

 Ø       3 ounces unsweetened chocolate

Ø       ¼ cup butter

Ø       2 tablespoons heavy cream

Ø       7 tablespoons sifted confectioners’ sugar

Ø       ground peppermint candies

Ø       cocoa powder

 

Coarsely grate the chocolate and melt it with butter.  Add the cream.  Gradually stir in until lump-free the confectioners’ sugar.  Cover and refrigerate 12 to 24 hours.  Make individual balls by rolling about a teaspoonful of the mixture in the palm of your hand.  This friction and warmth will cause the chocolate to melt slightly, so that the final coating will adhere.  Roll balls in cocoa powder.  Keep refrigerated, but for best flavor remove 2 hours before serving.

 

You can also make a hard chocolate coating by melting chocolate in the microwave or on the stove.  Dip each truffle in the chocolate and then sprinkle them with ground peppermint (I just took those starbright mints and ground some in the blender).  Let harden on wax paper in the refrigerator.

 

You can also decide to get fancy like these chocolate shops and add curry, cayenne pepper or liqueurs to your mixture.

One Response to Truffle Goodness

  1. Alethia Van Fleet says:

    Heather:

    I love your truffle recipe, especially your added touches, like the peppermint, curry,etc.

    Not sure if I’m able to try the recipes.

    I enjoy all your stories that accompany the recipes.
    AVF

Leave a Reply

