Chocolate Chip Cookies


I have a favor to ask: let’s forget that it’s been almost 3 months since this little food blog was updated.  Let’s start clean and fresh and full of hope and promise, ok?

So, several months ago, I met a charming man we’ll call X.  Our first conversation, over dinner with a group of people, centered around food and the things I like to make, wish I could make and know that I’m good at making.  Bread, cakes, pies and cookies fall into all of those categories.  X promptly invited himself to my house to sample my bread, but I was raised to be a lady and taught never to bake for just anyone.  Now, I’m going to pause here to say that I have a hard time not cooking or baking for people I like.  Once I like you, as a friend or otherwise, I want to feed you.  But, I’ve learned to be a little discriminating.  I try not to give up the goodies too soon, just to make sure you actually like me and not my ability to follow a recipe.

X became fixated on me making him chocolate chip cookies.  Many a late night texting session was spent discussing my reasons why I wasn’t going to bake for him immediately, but how it would be worth the wait.  One Saturday evening with nothing to do, I decided I was ready to invite him over to watch me bake and eat cookies straight from the oven.  I texted my invitation.  The response? “Sorry, hanging out with the guys tonight.”  This was likely sign #17 that things weren’t working, but I am not easily discouraged.

Weeks later, after much back and forth between us for myriad reasons, I decided that either I was going to bake for this man now or I never would.  I mean, at some point you have to take the leap of faith and say that while the situation is not perfect, you’ve invested enough time and energy that you need to push the envelope a bit to see if things can go to the next level.  So on the first 85 degree day of the summer, I went to 5 different stores to find brown sugar.  I bought Ghirardelli chocolate chips and sifted flour.  I cranked my oven up to 350 degrees.  I baked 3 batches of cookies so I could pick a baker’s dozen of the most perfect ones.   I put them in a container and carted them off to X, hiding them in the bottom of my bag so the burning sun wouldn’t melt them. 

You know where this story is going, right?

Oh, don’t get me wrong, he said he loved them.  Said they were amazing and awesome and I inferred from his words that my cookies may rate up there with some of the best he’s had.  But not a week went by before he looked me dead in the eye and said, “I never promised you anything” and turned his attention to another girl in the bar (and to be completely fair to X, I am sure that he would tell you a different version of what transpired prior to him saying this, but this is (1/2) my blog, so whatever).

chocolate-chip-cookies2

The recipe is easy and the cookies are impressive, no matter the outcome of your efforts.  Just, you know, hold out for the right person like your mama taught you…

Milk Chocolate Chip Cookies (from Food & Wine, Feb. 2009)

  • 2-1/2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
  • 1-1/2 cups light brown sugar
  • 1 cup, plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 cups (14 ounces) all purpose flour
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 pound milk chocolate chips
  • 1.  In the bowl of  a standing electric mixer fitted with the paddle, beat the butter, brown sugar, granulated sugar, eggs and vanilla at medium speed until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes.  In a medium bowl, whisk the flour with the baking soda and salt.  Add the dry ingredients to the mixer and beat at low speed until incorporated, scraping down the bowl occasionally.  Stir in the chocolate chips.  Cover and refrigerate the dough until chilled, about 1 hour.

    2. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper.  Scoop up 2 tablespoon-size clumps of the dough and roll into balls.  Place the balls on the baking sheets about 3 inches apart (the cookies will spread quite a bit).  Bake in the lower and middle thirds of the oven for about 17 minutes (I think 12 minutes on convection does it–I also made my cookies a little smaller, probably 1 tablespoon), until the cookies are lightly browned around the edges but still very soft in the center; shift the pans from top to bottom and front to back halfway through baking.  Slide the parchment onto racks and let the cookies cool (run the baking sheets under cold water between batches).  Repeat with the remaining dough.  Yield: 6 dozen

One Response to Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Devil’s Food Cake « Pestle Mortar

Leave a Reply

