Oatmeal Raisin[et] Cookies


In honor of Earth Day, I want to point you in the direction of a super Earth friendly project/blog.  My good friend Heidi (of Creamless Cream of Mushroom fame) and a couple of other green-minded people have started rooftop gardens and chronicle their successes and challenges at Green Roof Growers.  What I love about the idea–and the blog–is that they make me feel like even though I don’t have any plants more taxing than an aloe (or a rooftop for that matter. Details!), I could one day have an entire garden if I followed their instructions.  Heidi & Company make planters out of soda bottles! And tell you how and when to plant what kind of seeds! And give you tasty recipes using the food from their gardens! They basically lead you by hand on how to create a lovely oasis in the middle of a busy city, which is something we all need, don’t you think? While I can’t imagine building my own irrigation system anytime soon, I do know where to turn when I’m ready.  So, hop on over and green up your life a bit. 

The link between rooftop gardens and oatmeal raisin cookies is, of course, Heidi.  Many years ago (January 3, 2002, to be exact–I found the original email), she sent me a recipe for some yummy cookies she’d made me once before. I have to admit, I tried them once and haven’t done them again until last night when I was trying to figure out if I had any of the 4687932389 ingredients in the Joy of Cooking, epicurious, or food network recipes I was reading (y’all know I didn’t even bother to check Mark Bittman).  Heidi’s recipe is all yumminess without all of the extra ingredients and steps, which is exactly what you’d expect from someone growing their own veggies on a roof in the middle of Chicago.  It’s one of those recipes that will move to the top of my in-need-of-comfort-food list. 

The original recipe was a lot healthier than what I created, mainly because I cut out a cup of oatmeal and substituted Raisinets for plain raisins. The first I kind of regret, because there’s not as much oatmeal texture as I’d like, but I got a little nervous that all of the oats wouldn’t get incorporated in the batter, so I cut back.  I’d add an extra 1/2 cup back in.  I stand by my Raisinet decision, though, because who doesn’t want a little chocolate in a cookie?  But I suppose if you’re going for the totally good for you category, plain raisins will work.

So after you go do something good for the planet, reward yourself with these little bits of deliciousness with a cold glass of milk… Happy Earth Day!

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies courtesy of Heidi

  • 3 cups rolled oats, regular or quick (I’d use 2-1/2 cups)
  • 2 cups (9 ounces) flour
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon (omitted, because I didn’t know if the cinnamon/Raisinet combo would work)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup granulated sugar (I used 1/2 cup)
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar (I used 1 cup)
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup raisin (or Raisinets)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 375 degree.  Spread oats on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and toast, stirring often, until they turn a shade darker and become mildly fragrant, about 5-8 minutes.  Let the oats cool.

In small bowl, whisk together flour, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, use an electric mixer (I used my KitchenAid on 4) to beat the granulated and brown sugars, oil, vanilla and eggs until fluffy.  With mixer at low speed, blend in the dry flour mixture.  Then mix in the oats and raisins until well blended (I did this by hand).

Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto parchment lined baking sheet.  Bake until light browned, 10-12 minutes (at about minute 6, I took a spoon and pressed them down a bit–they really started to rise!). Transfer to rack to cool.

Note: if you make small cookies, they’ll be done in about 8 minutes, so watch carefully!

3 Responses to Oatmeal Raisin[et] Cookies

  1. Only you would substitute Raisinettes (french spelling) for oatmeal! I love the concept. Come plant tomatoes with me and get dirt under you nails at end of May…xx

  2. A. Van Fleet says:

    H:

    Only you would substitute Rasinettes for raisins. Must make the cookies awfully sweet, but delicious nontheless. A good treat to take to the movies.

  3. Pingback: Guest Post–Blueberry Muffins with a Gazpacho Chaser « Pestle Mortar

Leave a Reply

