[…crickets…]


You know how they say that the road to hell is paved with good intentions?  I may as well sign up for a one way ticket to the 7th circle now, because I had the best of intentions this week, kids.  I had all the ingredients to make pineapple strudel! And gumbo! And mint brownies! And dulce de leche! And what am I offering you? Nothing. Nothing at all, because even though I had the ingredients and a lot of time, nothing really spoke to me.  I wasn’t feeling the cutting and stirring and watching and tasting and picture taking.  In fact, I was feeling the opposite of all of that–whatever that is–to the point that I’ve been eating Lean Cuisines and oreos (nice combo, no?)  instead of creating tasty dishes for you to try.

I seriously don’t understand how food bloggers post recipes and pictures every day.  Don’t they get bored? Or overwhelmed? Or totally apathetic (all of which I felt this week)?  Dear lord, how many ways can you find to describe how you chopped a vegetable or melted butter?  And don’t even get me started on the recipes! As I was looking for a way to make pineapple strudel last night (a last attempt to have something to post today; it sounded the easiest), I came upon a pineapple buttermilk ice cream recipe in Joy of Cooking.  Easy enough, I thought.  Just pineapple, egg white, sugar and buttermilk (although I did not have buttermilk, I figured I could make my own–did you know that if you add 1 tablespoon of lemon juice or vinegar to a cup of regular milk you’d have a buttermilk substitute?).  And boy howdy was I wrong.  After letting the pineapple/sugar/buttermilk mixture freeze a bit, I was supposed to do something called slow freezing or some such nonsense, where I was to stir the mixture every 1/2 hour until it had the consistency of soft serve ice cream.  Who has time for that kind of lunacy (especially since it was already 9pm)? 

At any rate, while I’m full of cooking ideas and ingredients, I’m lacking in the motivation department.  So I’m asking: what keeps you cooking? What gets you excited about being in the kitchen?  What are some of your cooking/baking challenges or goals?

I promise to be back to our regularly scheduled programming in bit.  In the meantime, why don’t you stop by with some real ice cream to go with my oreos?

2 Responses to […crickets…]

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention [...crickets...] « Pestle Mortar -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Pineapple Panna Cotta « Pestle Mortar

Leave a Reply

