Ice Cream Sandwiches


So I have a confession: I’m not a huge fan of ice cream.  I know, catch your breath.  Ready to move on?  I mean, I certainly wouldn’t say no to a bowl of mint chip if offered, but it’s not my favorite thing in the world.  A pint can safely sit in my freezer from one season to the next without fear of being attacked with a serving spoon and subjected to chick flicks.  I think it’s partly because I am always always cold, and the idea of eating something frozen just makes me shiver and sets my teeth on edge.

Cookies on the other hand are likely to be my downfall.  As I think I’ve mentioned a time or 1000, I love oreos more than I like most people (have you tried the new mint ones? HEAVEN!).  Big chewy chocolate chip cookies are comfort on a plate.  I really don’t think you can ever go wrong with oatmeal raisin and a glass of milk.  Even a sugar cookie will do in a pinch. 

So every year, my neighborhood has a book fair with book sellers and readings and all types of nerdy events and I always have an ice cream social.  I chose ice cream because I think a cookie/cupcake social sounds strange.  I started doing it the first summer I lived in the neighborhood because I wanted to be of the fair without actually being at the fair (basically, I wanted be a part of it without having to be in the crowds).  Now it’s become an annual party where my friends come over and I make ice cream sandwiches and have all of the fixings for sundaes (sprinkles, maraschino cherries, m&ms, whipped cream) and root beer floats.  All of this is accompanied by cupcakes and brownies and pink lemonade.  Basically it’s a sugar fest, with a few books thrown in for good measure.

The ice cream sandwiches are always the belle of the ice cream ball, because they are two delicious things put together and really, how can you go wrong?  The trick is to bake the cookies and freeze them as soon as they cool a bit.  This will keep them from bending and breaking when you’re spreading the ice cream. Wrap the sandwiches in wax paper and let them refreeze so that they won’t start melting right away as your guests (or you) devour them.  You can get really fancy and add sprinkles or mini chocolate chips around the edges.  Really, the possibilities are endless.  Which is what I’m hoping this summer will be: endless and full of possibilities…

Ice Cream Sandwiches

This is pretty self-explanatory, no?  Take a cookie, spread some ice cream, top with another cookie, wrap in wax paper, let freeze a bit (if you can stand the wait), enjoy!

One Response to Ice Cream Sandwiches

  1. A. Van Fleet says:

    Yum:

    Your photos of the cookies you made, plus filled with ice cream makes me want to devour an ice cream sandwich right now, but it’s really too early in the day, plus I don’t have any of your fabulous chocolatey cookies.

Leave a Reply

