Pineapple Panna Cotta


You’ll be happy to know–because I know you think about me and my happiness a lot–that my absence from the blog has more to do with too much gallivanting and nothing at all to do with my lack of enthusiasm for cooking and the like.  Granted, not much has been made chez moi lately, but I hope you’ll understand that we only get a few really lovely months in the Chi and I have to take full advantage.  Since you’ve heard from me last, I’ve been to NYC and fallen in love (with the city. Although you Big Apple boys certainly could give the Chitown boys a run for their money!), eaten out for just about every meal, started fencing lessons (oh, what I wouldn’t give to be able to relate that crazy to a food post! But no one seems to want to go to Medieval Times with me…) and contemplated many a farmer’s market, but settled for a good book at an outdoor cafe instead.

Obviously, the 90 degree heat and 100% humidity mean only the very coolest of things can be consumed.  A friend sent me a recipe for panna cotta back when snow was covering most of the city, so I didn’t give it much thought, but now is the time!  This dessert is light and creamy–kind of the skinny cousin to a custard–and since it plays well with fruit, you can take full advantage of the blueberries, strawberries and blackberries that are at their peak during the summer. 

I think this is the shortest post ever, but it sort of fits with how simple this dessert actually is.  Plus, I have a pool to go sit by, a sparkly drink to sip and a beautiful day to enjoy.  Forgive me?

Pineapple Panna Cotta (adapted from Food & Wine, March 2010)

  • 1 cup 2% milk
  • 1/2 cup sugar (I would reduce this next time)
  • 2 teaspoons plain powdered gelatin
  • 2 tablespoons cold water
  • 1/3 cup low fat sour cream (3 ounces)
  • 1-1/2 cups low fat plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup crushed pineapple (canned), drained
  • 4 tablespoons pineapple juice

In a medium saucepan, heat the milk and sugar over low heat until the sugar dissolves.  Meanwhile, in a small bowl, sprinkle the gelatin over the water and let stand until softened.  Scrape the gelatin into the warm milk and cool completely.

In a large bowl, whisk the sour cream, yogurt, pineapple juice and vanilla. Whisk in the milk.  Put a tablespoon of crushed pineapple in the bottom of glass and pour panna cotta over.  Refrigerate until set, about 3 hours (or overnight).

Remove from refrigerator and top with crushed pineapple.  Serve immediately.

3 Responses to Pineapple Panna Cotta

  1. rantingmad says:

    What a blog to stumble upon, mmmm looks so yummy. Thanks for the recipe.

  2. yummmmm…. this is on the weekend menu. that is, if i can find the canned pineapple. they love their “hawaiian gammon” these Brits, but finding the stuff is challenging…

  3. pestlemortar says:

    Ooh! Let me know how it turns out and/or if you use other fruit!

Leave a Reply

