Scrapple


I saw a quiz several months back that was supposed to rate your sense of adventure.  There were four choices of what you may consider adventurous: whitewater rafting, karaoke, something else I forget and trying a new food.  I, of course, chose trying a new food, not because I thought it truly the most adventurous thing I could do, but it sounded the most appealing.  Plus, I’ve already done karaoke and really, whitewater rafting looks like fun, but I guarantee you that if you ask me to go I’ll tell you I just got my hair done, but I’ll meet you at the end with a towel and dry clothes.  Just not my thing.  Of course, I was rated on the very lowest end of adventurous–which I didn’t need a random quiz to tell me–but I found it surprising that singing in a bar with a bunch of strangers while likely 37 sheets to the wind (and even more likely not to remember it) was considered more adventurous than eating something that could possibly poison you or at least make your eyes cross.  Obviously these people have never watched Bizarre Foods or read anything by Anthony Bourdain

Long way of saying that while I don’t think trying new foods is really as adventurous as jumping out of a plane (again, why??), I do think it can be just as exciting.  Think about what you ate all of last month and I bet that you probably only had one or two new food adventures.  So imagine my excitement (and I’ll admit, slight trepidation) when a work colleague told me that he would introduce me to the Philly favorite, Scrapple. 

Now, for those of you not from Philly, I’m going to pause here to say that you really shouldn’t go look up the ingredients.  No, seriously, don’t.  Suffice it to say that it is a very inventive and inclusive pork product.  I don’t know what’s in hot dogs and I really don’t care, because they’re tasty.  This is the same approach you should take to pate, fois gras and Scrapple, ok?

I really don’t think that he thought I’d try it, but I thought it very kind that he brought it back–on ice during the drive–from Philly and really, how could I call myself a foodie or even a food blogger (neither of which I call myself on regular basis, just FYI), if I wouldn’t try something that at first blush made me a little anxious.  But look how well the quinoa experiment turned out, I told myself!  I was given detailed instructions on how to prepare the Scrapple: slice it thin, fry it in a pan, serve it with an egg and toast. Hot sauce or ketchup could be put on top.  I did admit that I’d have to jazz it up a bit for this post, but I promised to try it as directed first.

Side note: I make a lot of the recipes I write about early in the morning before work, because that’s when I have the best light to take the pictures.  Unless it’s a cake or something that I can do the night before and still get a fresh looking shot the next day, you’ll find me in my pajamas at 6am slicing and sautéing and generally making a mess before I’ve even had a cup of coffee.  Overshare?

So, I’m in my kitchen at 6:30 yesterday morning about to open a package of a product that I did read the ingredients of and I was a little scared.  But unlike the quinoa, there was no smell so I was happy to move to the next step of slicing and frying.  And when I slid it in the pan, it started to smell really good, as you would expect a pork product would.  I think I may have sliced it too thin, because it fell apart, but I just chopped it up and used it in my frittata (my fancy Scrapple adventure).  I finally got the perfect cut, got it nice and crisp and made a lovely sunny side up egg to go along.  My plate was beautiful, but could I live up to my own challenge and eat it??

I could and I’m glad I did. 

My only disappointment was that it kind of tasted like a sausage patty (without the added spices), when I was kind of expecting something totally unfamiliar.  Mixed with the egg and toast, it was an excellent sausage egg mcmuffin substitute.  I can totally see the appeal of it, though, because it’s super easy to fry up and stick on a slice of bread.  And, it turned out well in my frittata, too (which I brought to work) even though I imagine that I’m not going to convert any die-hard Scrapple lovers over to my schmancy use of their childhood comfort food.

So score one for me on the food adventure path, although I will deduct half a point because it wasn’t truly that adventurous, just new and different.  And I’m ok with not being adventurous.  The world needs people like me to nurse the rest of you back to health after you catch a cold with all that whitewater rafting…

Scrapple Frittata

  • Salt and ground pepper to taste
  • 1 medium sized baking potato, peeled and cut into equal size rounds
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1/2 small yellow onion, chopped
  • 3 eggs lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • Scrapple, fried and chopped into inch size cubes
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Bring a small pot tow-thirds full of water to a boil, add salt and potatoes and cook until tender, 8-10 minutes.  Drain and let cool. 

In a small ovenproof fry pan over medium high heat, warm olive oil.  Add onion and saute, stirring occasionally, until tender, 5-6 minutes.  Add potatoes and Scrapple; saute, stirring occasionally, 1-2 minutes more.  Add eggs (mixed with the milk), salt, pepper and cheese and stir until just mixed.  Transfer pan to oven and bake until frittata is set, 18-20 minutes.

2 Responses to Scrapple

  1. Diane says:

    Very tasty, but then again, how can you go wrong with pork?

  2. Pingback: Kalua Pork « Pestle Mortar

Leave a Reply

