Odds, Ends and New Stuff to Make You Happy


So I had a revelation last night that there are only 2 months left to 2010. This caused serious panic, because, truth be told, I have very little to show for this year.  I mean, when you think that I’ve lived every single day of it, you’d think that I’d have a bit more to reflect on and be pleased about.  Don’t get me wrong, it has been a wonderful year in many ways, but considering one of my little nieces (hi, Lucy!) has been born, learned to sit up, is eating solid food and has said her first couple of words–all since January–you can see how I feel I’m lagging behind.

One thing that I have done and that has made me immensely happy is this little blog.  When Michelle and I started it two years ago, I had no idea I would fall in love with it.  I think about what to cook and what to say more than I probably should considering I’m not getting paid to do this and I miss it when I procrastinate or have nothing interesting to write about.  We started it with the idea of sharing recipes, but it’s become so much more–a place to tell stories, post pictures and really just have a good time.  I hope you’ve had as much fun as we have (and! Michelle is almost done with the class work part of her PhD, so fingers crossed she’ll come back to us one of these days! I’m keeping the blog fire warm for her…).

At any rate, I thought that my dear Pestle Mortar needed some sprucing up, so I’ve made some changes.  Some of them have been around for awhile but were made with little fanfare, others are fresh off the imagination press.  Be on the look out for some more tweaks and changes, challenges and polls and, if I get a move on with these last two months of the year, a big announcement of where all this cooking and baking and picture taking is going.  Ooooh! The suspense! Can you stand it??

  • I changed the theme/layout.  I really liked the other one, mainly because the bullet points came out as stars, but I’m in total crush mode over this new, clean one. What do you think?
  • I’ve added a Recipe page (top left hand corner), which I’ll update regularly.  You can find just about any recipe that’s been featured here, divided into categories (breakfast, dessert, drinks, side dishes, snacks, what’s for dinner and miscellaneous).  There are still some that need to be added, so check back.  There’s also a search box which will hopefully take you where you need to go.
  • Each post/recipe has a star rating (from “not if I were starving” to “new fave”).  If you hate it, are indifferent, or can’t live without it, I want to know.  You have to click on the post title to see the stars:

  • You may have noticed (or not) that I try to post once a week.  I would love to do it more often, but after the grocery shopping, cooking, picture taking and writing is all done, one post is as good as it gets until I win the lottery or marry well and can devote my life to this.  But, in the interest of keeping you entertained and coming back, I’m adding a new feature called Food Finds where I’ll update you on fun food happenings, projects, blogs and anything tasty I can find.  Suggestions are welcome!  I’m unlikely to do restaurant reviews, because there are many many people out there who can do it better, but if you’d like to take me out to dinner, I’ll happily write about it…
  • I would love it if you’d follow me on Twitter, although I don’t update that often (mainly because I don’t know what all the @ and # and ^*$(&% symbols mean and I’m afraid I’ll set off a nuclear war if I start typing those codes in).  Click on the button to the right there and let’s have some fun (or something. Who knows?).
5 Responses to Odds, Ends and New Stuff to Make You Happy

  1. Moe says:

    Digging the new look and categories.

  2. pestlemortar says:

    Thank you! We needed some change around here!

  3. matchek says:

    like the new look, but the black font title (Pestle Mortar) is hard to see. you can either: make the background photo lighter or change font color (not all WP themes allow that). love the ratings

  4. pestlemortar says:

    Hey there! Thanks. I’m still playing around with it, but I agree with you on the font title. I actually want to change the photo, but haven’t decided on a new one yet…

  5. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie Brulée « Pestle Mortar

Leave a Reply

